This is the "Home" page of the "Cataloging Student Films @ Watkins Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Cataloging Student Films @ Watkins Library  

Last Updated: Jan 10, 2017 URL: http://watkins.libguides.com/catalogingstudentfilms Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

The steps

Step 1 of the cataloging process for student films is getting the Student Film Submission Form data.

Step 2 is downloading the student film file in preparation.

Step 3 is uploading the student film files to the studentfilms@watkins.edu YouTube account.

Step 4 is creating the record for each film in the Library Catalog and creating the link in the record to the film on YouTube so that it can be viewed.

      

    Where do they come from

    ARTchive logoEvery semester, student films submitted to the upper level production classes, as well as some selected other examples, are preserved and stored in the film-archive stored on the Watkins server and cataloged so they can be searched and viewed online from the Library catalog.  Student films in the catalog can only be viewed on computers connected to the Watkins server, directly or by wi-fi.  Classes submitting films for archiving and cataloging will store their finished films on the Film Department server, where they can be transferred to the archive by IT and in lower resolution versions in Google Drive folders set up by the professor and shared with the librarian@watkins.edu Google account.  The student films are uploaded to Youtube and cataloged in the Watkins Library catalog.  In addition to making the films searchable, the catalog record contains a link that will allow people accessing the catalog on campus to view the film.

        

      Where are they?

      Student films submitted to the Library are stored in two places: on the film-archive server and on the Watkins Student Films Youtube account. The films are cataloged and searchable in the Library online catalog.  The catalog record has a link that allows users to view the film from any computer connected to the Watkins server.  You must also be signed in to your Google (Watkins email) account to view the films.
          

        Accessing film-archive

        The library can access the film-archive through the Mac in the back office.  If the film-archive icon is not visible on the desktop, press the Apple control key and the letter k. On the menu that appears select nfs://san-backup/volumes/pool2R3S1/film-archive. Click on the film-archive icon to access.

            
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip