Full Text Article Resources
- EBSCOHOST/Art Full Text
Art Full Text is a comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals. The database covers fine arts, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture. You can also access the Points of View database for pro/con essays for any range of controversial issues, such as gay marriage, gun control, or funding for the arts. Remote Access Available with a password. ASK a librarian for User ID and Password by phone or email.
Full text access to scholarly journals in the fields of music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture. No log in is necessary. There is no off-campus access.
Remote Access Available with a password. ASK a librarian for User ID and Password by phone or email.
- Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL)
Tennessee residents have access to 19 databases of magazines, newspapers, journals, and reference materials. Be sure to check out the guides for resume help or graduate school test prep. Remote access available, ask a librarian for password
The Library also curates a selection of relevant web resources related to the research and teaching needs of the curriculum. These resources are integrated into the Library's website and research guides. Examples of the resources include:
- Archives of American Art
Over 8,000 photographs, letters, sketches, diaries, and other documents related to American artists, including Romare Bearden, Alexander Calder, Joseph Cornell, Thomas Eakins, Winslow Homer, Walt Kuhn, Jackson Pollock, John Singer Sargent, and Grant Wood.
- Encyclopedia of Life
Online open-source encyclopedia of plants and animals - includes images and video.
- Internet Archive
Open access to thousands of books, articles, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages.
- Luerzer's Archive Online Services
Search the archive for both print and TV advertising campaigns.
Recorded public domain music. All materials are in the public domain.
- NYPL Digital Gallery
Provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
- Prelinger Archive
Search over 3,000 films produced by and for many hundreds of important US corporations, nonprofit organizations, trade associations, community and interest groups, and educational institutions.
- The Purdue OWL
The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and we provide these as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects.
- Stock Footage
Search a collection of stock footage with various Creative Commons licenses.
- TinEye Labs Multicolor Search
Search for images by color! Search over 10 million Creative Commons licensed images from Flickr by up to five colors (with adjustable percentages by slider).
ARTstor is a growing repository of 300,000+ digital images and related data supporting interdisciplinary studies with special emphasis on collections of art, architecture and archeology. After simple online registration, you can access the database from anywhere. Register online from campus and you can access from anywhere.
Rhizome is dedicated to the creation, presentation, preservation, and critique of emerging artistic practices that engage technology. Through open platforms for exchange and collaboration, Rhizome’s website serves to encourage and expand the communities surrounding these practices. Programs, many of which happen online, include commissions, exhibitions, events, discussion, archives and portfolios. Sign up to create a personal profile page, subscribe to Rhizome’s blog and newsletters, participate in discussion, post announcements and view job opportunities, browse art in the online archive, the ArtBase, find out about recent events and exhibitions, apply for a grant and view Rhizome grantees.On and off campus access. Off campus, just join the rhizome community with your Watkins email address.
Library Subject Guides
Subject Guides - Your students and you can access Library and online information on subjects from Art History to Printmaking through our Subject Guides. We are converting our subject guides using the LibGuide software to be portals to Library sources in books, journals, DVDs, and online sources in addition to guides to evaluating information sources, writing and citation style, and plagiarism/fair use. The LibGuide also lets you create a page for you for your specific class where you can share assignments, readings and other class information.
- Atomic Learning
Want to master a new piece of software? Have a specific tech question? ATOMIC LEARNING provides thousands of tutorial movies and curriculum resources that cover a variety of software packages including Final Cut, Dreamweaver, Windows Vista, PowerPoint, Endnote and Blackboard. Students and Faculty can access Atomic Learning anywhere on campus; off-campus access is available with a password. Ask a librarian or your instructor for the username and password.